Black Library Live! 2016 - it's back!

Black Library Live Coming Soon – Age of Sigmar

In the last of three posts covering the new titles announced at Black Library Live 2016, this time I’m looking at a couple of newly-announced titles for the Warhammer Age of Sigmar range – both by the incredibly productive Josh Reynolds.

As with the previous posts (on the upcoming Warhammer 40,000 and Horus Heresy titles) there were no release dates given for either of these new titles, and neither of these have got covers yet.

We didn’t get a lot of details on these in the seminar, but I spoke to Josh Reynolds, author of both titles, who gave me a little bit of information about each of them.

Hallowed Knights: Plague Garden by Josh Reynolds
This will feature the Hallowed Knights Stormcast chamber heading to the realm of Nurgle, kicking ass and taking names. It was pitched as being the beginning of a new wave of Age of Sigmar books.

Josh: “Hallowed Knights: Plague Garden takes place after the Season of War campaign and the All-Gates game book. It follows Gardus and the Steel Souls warrior chamber as they invade the realm of Nurgle in order to rescue Lord-Castellant Grymn from the Plague God and his followers. Tornus the Redeemed (formerly Torglug the Despised) is a major character, as is Gutrot Spume. And while it follows the Steel Souls, it’s very much a Hallowed Knights book – it’ll explore some of the Stormhost’s culture, their way of honouring the dead, of keeping their memories of mortal life intact, etc. It’s also a book about redemption and faith, and how those things aren’t necessarily seen in the same way by all of the Hallowed Knights. The Stormhost is made up of the Faithful – but that can mean a lot of different things. Also – female Stormcasts. Far as I know, this’ll be the first book to mention them.”

Female Stormcasts! That’s exciting…

The Eight Lamentations by Josh Reynolds
Another Josh Reynolds title – it was jokingly (?) suggested that the setting was going to be renamed the Age of Reynolds! This will span different ages, including the Age of Blood when the Chaos gods were victorious. It will also focus on non-Stormcast characters, as there are still normal people around! The aim appears to be to inject depth to the setting through mortal characters as opposed to just Stormcast and chaos.

Josh: “The Eight Lamentations is a sort of Mission Impossible meets the Dirty Dozen adventure story, involving Grungni gathering a group of mortal agents from throughout the realms to seek out and claim the titular weapons – eight weapons, forged by Khorne’s smiths, in the Age of Chaos. But Grungni isn’t the only one looking for them – Neferata is also on the hunt, as are the skaven and the Khornate weaponsmiths who first forged the weapons. There are characters from the width and breadth of the realms, and we’ll get a street-level view of one of the new cities Sigmar has founded in the mortal realms, as well as visiting some places I’ve covered in other works, like Shu’gohl, the Crawling City from Skaven Pestilens. This book will start to bring together a bunch of stuff I seeded into my other AOS work, including characters, events and places.

The protagonists include a Gunmaster of the Ironweld, a Blood Knight (who’s introduced in Nagash: The Undying King), a mercenary from Chamon, a warrior-librarian from Ghur, and a Fyreslayer doomseeker, among others. We’ll see how they view the mortal realms, Sigmar, the Stormcasts, and Chaos, as well as how the mortal realms have developed in the wake of the realmgate wars.”

That sounds…fantastic! Who doesn’t want to read Mission Impossible meets Dirty Dozen set in the Age of Sigmar?!

Click these links if you fancy a look at what’s coming for Warhammer 40,000 or the Horus Heresy, and let me know what you’re most excited about!


Leave a comment